Tuesday, July 14, 2020
All Patients Welcome

Photography by Matthew Bourgeois

All Patients Welcome

Though adult-use cannabis consumption has been legal in Maine since voters said yes to Question 1, until lawmakers enact a full adult use  program, we are still required to have an authorized medical cannabis patient card to patronize the many retail stores that are popping up all around the state. With the passage of adult-use marijuana rules, sales could start in late 2019 or early 2020.

What does this mean for out-of-state qualifying patients hoping to medicate here in Vacationland? Don’t fret, you won’t have to wait until next March to visit retail stores since Maine has reciprocity for out-of-state cannabis patients who are at least 21 years old. Maine’s caregiver storefronts are still able to provide people with the finest craft cannabis flower and cannabis products, not to mention the expert knowledge tourists crave. 

Here in Maine, caregivers pride themselves with providing the best and highest-quality medicine to their patients—the way life should be. For visitors who do not have a medical marijuana patient card from their home state, they can still stop in the stores for hemp-derived CBD products or to simply chat with a local caregiver. Anyone entering must bring a valid government-issued photo ID or driver’s license when they visit a store. 

Recently passed laws have made it easier for visiting patents to purchase, possess and consume marijuana in Maine. Previously, patients needed written certification from one’s medical provider, but that is no longer necessary. For qualifying medical patients, there are some key legal rights regarding purchasing and medicating in Maine:  

Tourists possessing a medical cannabis patient card from their home state healthcare provider can “engage in conduct authorized for a qualifying patient” (MaineLegislature.org). (Proper ID must be presented at the time of purchase, and one must retain their medical card at all times.) Medical patients can then purchase harvested cannabis or cannabis product from a state-licensed caregiver and possess paraphernalia to consume it. Likewise, a visiting patient cannot purchase or possess more than 2.5 ounces of harvested cannabis in a 15-day period. Visitors are also not permitted to cultivate or transfer/furnish harvested marijuana to another person. The penalty for possessing more flower than the legal limit is a hefty fine, which depends on how far over the possession limit one is.

  • Maine patients are able to possess up to eight pounds of harvested marijuana while non-patient Maine residents are able to possess up to 2.5 ounces of harvested cannabis. 
  • All Maine 21+ residents, patient or not, are able to cultivate up to 3 mature plants, 12 immature plants, and an unlimited amount of seedlings; possess paraphernalia; and furnish or offer to furnish up to 2.5 ounces of harvested cannabis to another in-state patient for no compensation in return. 
  • In-state patients are no longer to designate a caregiver or dispensary in order to receive harvested cannabis. 

Remember, smoking in public and anywhere that tobacco is prohibited is not allowed. This applies to medical and adult-use. The safest option is at home and on private property. Maine also has a “drugged driving” law, so if you’re pulled over and suspected of being under the influence, you may be asked to submit to a sobriety test. So medicate safely and smartly. 

For folks visiting the Old Port in downtown Portland, stop by Fire on Fore for a killer collection of Maine’s finest. The staff are friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. And don’t forget to stop in to Blazin’ Ace, The Higher Concept, and Awear for smoking accessories, glass, and local art . Each shop is unique and offers different options for the consumer to enjoy. For a complete list of the many cannabis retail stores scattered all around Maine broken down by individual town, visit weedmaps.com.

Welcome to Maine - the way weed should be.